Reviews

————————————–
5.0 out of 5 stars
NOT YOUR TYPICAL EVEREST STORY…
June 19, 2019
“Not your typical Everest story, ‘Suicide By Everest’, explores the dark side of Chinese culture most know nothing about. Very real yet unpredictable, this book had me gripped till the very last page. Not only is it exciting, but there is also some great insight to take away from it. Definitely worth the read and highly recommended!”
————————————–
————————————–
Joe J.
5.0 out of 5 stars
BLOCKBUSTER ALL OVER IT!
June 17, 2019
“Great read! Not a big paperback book reader anymore due to the internet but I was asked to give Suicide by Everest a try. It kept me engaged through all the twists as I wanted to find out what Brigham was going to do next. Well written book and I’m sure it will be a movie one day as its got Blockbuster all over it.”
—————————————
Tom Lacey
5.0 out of 5 stars
THIS BOOK WAS FANTASTIC!
May 25, 2019
“Wow… this book was fantastic… and was Scott’s first??? I am an avid reader of fiction and this book was fantastic – compared to anyone. International venues, international cultures, religion, gangs, beautiful women, crime, intrigue, suspense, humor, nature, … are just some of the things that came to mind while reading this page-turner. I couldn’t wait to read the next page… Scott was able to tell multiple stories at once while keeping the reader engaged. I cannot wait for Scott’s next book… Clearly a 5 out of 5… Great job Scott! Impressive… Congratulations… I cannot imagine writing a book… and to produce this masterpiece in your first book… Wow…”
—————————————
Don Weersing
5.0 out of 5 stars
PIQUANT NOVEL THAT KEEPS ON GIVING… 
May 24, 2019
“Piquant novel that keeps on giving ( couple died on Everest 5/23/19), Romey a tool ) not sure what age demo this reaches? Remember Batman theme song and all the wonderful fights, play that song in your head, ok ready…. Wow a knockout, WHAP… BAM…. POW……thought provoking intoxicating easy read. 🇺🇸😀FYI Working on my own novel called ” Unique or Nuts” …..can you tell?!”
—————————————-
5.0 out of 5 stars
WELL WRITTEN AND EASY TO READ!
April 15, 2019
“Love the character development and the twists and turns of the story. Well written and easy to read!”
—————————————
5.0 out of 5 stars
GREAT READ!
February 3, 2019
“Having grown-up behind the Zion Curtain in Salt Lake City I was familiar with the Brigham Young story pre read. I went to school with many young Brig wanna be’s and was transported back to my younger self in SLC in the 80’s. The twists and turns of Brig #8s life make for quite the adventure and the book is a page turner. I am not convinced that the author is not a member of the Triad and look forward to his next book.”
—————————————
5.0 out of 5 stars
A GREAT TALE OF RELIGION, CRIME AND SURVIVAL 
February 8, 2019
“Who knew that one could write a story about mormon missionaries, Hong Kong gangsters and a spoiled rich kid’s crazy life and have such a great story. Loved it. And it was so refreshing to read a book by a writer who knows how to keep it interesting while bouncing back and forth between the past and present. Cant’ wait for his next book, thanks Scott !”
—————————————
5.0 out of 5 stars
FUN READ
January 14, 2019
“A well written book by a new author. Scott created some great characters and a suspenseful plot that follows a young Brigham Young from Utah to his mission on the streets of Hong Kong where he experiences gangs and dangerous friends and habits, to his fateful day on Mt. Everest. The characters are well developed and believable throughout. I enjoyed this fictional book and already miss reading it. Highly recommend.”
—————————————
5.0 out of 5 stars
INTERNATIONAL INTRIGUE
January 4, 2019
“Suicide by Everest is a gripping novel about some very interesting characters dealing with their past choices and interacting in a variety of situations. From the mountains of Utah to the seedy streets of Hong Kong, this book kept me captivated and I finished in less than a week. Recommended!
—————————————
5.0 out of 5 stars
ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I HAVE READ
January 1, 2019
“One of the best books I have read…..love the vivid details, the exotic culture, the Mormon history, the intricate Character of Brigham Young, the adventures and the magnificent Mount Everest……all make this book such a fascinating read!”
—————————————
5.0 out of 5 stars
LOVE IT! A UNIQUE ADVENTURE NOVEL
December 22, 2018
“A true adventure about climbing mountains, international travel, Chinese gangs, beautiful women and a challenged hero. This is all woven together by Scott with an interesting theme of growing up as a part of the Mormon church and the associated challenges. I read the entire book during my last international trip and it helped pass the time quickly.”
—————————————
5.0 out of 5 stars
EXCELLENT READ FROM THIS NEW AUTHOR
December 1, 2018
“Well written novel with character development and a remarkable storyline that pulled you and kept you there until the very end. The structure and pace were on par with today’s best authors and I look forward to more adventures written by Scott Thurman.”
————————————–
4.0 out of 5 stars
QUITE THE TREK
December 1, 2018
“I enjoyed this reading book, through all the adventures, trial, and tribulations of Brigham Young VIII. There is great imagery, detail, and surprises around every corner as Brig makes his way to Everest. A book many will love to read as it goes through the Mormon religion, father and son challenges, and the root of it all, dealing with the death of a parent.”
————————————–
November 4, 2018
“I loved the book, was easy to read and became instantly enmeshed in the story.. especially liked the weaving of the background of the LDS church into the story and to see the gradual disintegration of Brig VIII …I read many novels but this story and the way in which the author develops the narrative is so different and interesting… that’s what I like the best, it’s so unusual…”
————————————–
Peter Van Deventer
November 1, 2018
“Scott nailed it. An epic journey through the unexpected, yet intermingled cultures of wealth, drugs, religion and Asian gangs. From the initial Epilogue through the unexpected twists and turns, Scott shares a great piece of fiction with a unique awareness of the cultures that clash. Can’t wait for the sequel!”
————————————–
5.0 out of 5 stars
November 1, 2018
October 29, 2018
“What a great read! A page-turner you won’t want to put down. Scott develops great characters that the reader can’t help pulling for, and his terrific exposition evokes exciting imagery!”
————————————–
 

%d bloggers like this: